0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0   A A A | Print  Print this page 0


Honours roll

Alan Pifer Award

Alan Pifer award

The award is the Vice-Chancellor's annual prize in recognition of outstanding welfare-related research. It highlights the strategic goal of promoting socially responsive research, and honours a UCT researcher whose outreach work has contributed to the advancement and welfare of South Africa's disadvantaged people.

About Pifer

The prize was established to honour Alan Pifer, philanthropist and former president of long-term UCT benefactors, the Carnegie Corporation. He died in 2005.

Throughout Pifer's career, his focus was on social justice and strengthening the rights of historically disadvantaged groups, including women. Pifer also established the UCT Fund, which raises funds in the US to support black students and to promote the advancement and welfare of disadvantaged groups.

Year Recipients Department
2015 Professor Ingrid Woolard SALDRU / School of Economics
2014 Emeritus Professor Robin Wood
Professor Linda-Gail Bekker
Desmond Tutu HIV Centre / Desmond Tutu HIV Foundation
2013 Prof Crick Lund Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health / Alan J Flisher Centre for Public Mental Health
2012 Prof Eric Bateman Department of Respiratory Medicine / UCT Lung Institute
2011 Prof Kelly Chibale Department of Chemistry / H3-D Drug Discovery & Development Centre
2010 Prof S Parnell Department of Environmental and Geographical Sciences
2009 Prof Dan Stein Department of Psychiatry
2008 Prof Raj Ramesar Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences
2007 Prof Pippa Skotnes
Associate Prof Mark Fleishman
School of Fine Art
Department of Drama
2006 Prof Timm Hoffman Plant Conservation Unit (PCU)
2005 Prof Alan Flisher Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry/ Adolescent Health Research Unit
2004 Prof David Chidester Religious Studies
2003 Dr Haroon Bhorat
Prof Murray Leibbrandt
School of Economics
2002 No Award
2001 Prof Sandra Burman Centre for Socio-Legal Research
2000 Prof Nicoli Nattrass
Associate Prof Jeremy Seekings
Centre for Social Science Research Unit
1999 Prof John Parkington Department of Archaeology
1998 Dr Lynette Denny Gynaecology and obstetrics
1997 Dr Farieda Khan Department of Environmental and Geographical Sciences
1996 Dr Leslie London School of Public Health and Family Medicine

back to top