Awards & achievements

Fellows of UCT

The Council of the University has established Fellowships for members of permanent academic staff in recognition of original distinguished academic work such as to merit special recognition.

List of Fellows of UCT

  • Fellow - A Fellow permanently employed at UCT
  • Life Fellow - A Fellow who has retired from UCT, or who has a break in service
  • Sometime Fellow - A Fellow who has left the University prior to retirement


Fellows Life Fellows Sometime Fellows
Professor J Alexander
Professor MG Alexander
Professor I Barashenkov
Professor SA Bourne
Professor F Brombacher
Professor K Chibale
Professor D Chidester
Professor A Chinsamy-Turan
Professor HM Corder
Professor JL Cornille
Professor K Dheda
Professor RE Dorrington
Professor TJ Egan
Professor GA Ekama
Professor JM Farrant
Professor S Harrison
Professor J Higgins
Professor G Hussey
Professor G Janelidze
Professor R Kraan-Korteweg
Professor H-P Kunzi
Professor EV Lambert
Professor M Leibbrandt
Professor AP le Roex
Professor N Levitt
Professor AE Lewis
Professor G Maartens
Professor B Mayosi
Professor P Meissner
Professor V Mizrahi
Professor N Mulder
Professor R Ramesar
Professor BD Reddy
Professor S Richardson
Professor D Ross
Professor E Rybicki
Distinguished Professor P-J Salazar
Professor J Sealy
Emeritus Professor C Shearing
Professor P Skotnes
Professor ML Solms
Professor DJ Stein
Professor E Sturrock
Professor E van Steen
Professor D Visser
Professor V Watson
Professor A-L Williamson
Professor C Williamson
Professor N Worden
Professor HJ Zar
Professor A Zingoni
Professor BM Arnott
Professor E Bateman
Professor RI Becker
Professor PH Beighton
Professor SR Benatar
Professor T Bennett
Professor MC Berman
Professor WJ Bond
Professor PC Bornman
Professor GM Branch
Professor GCL Brummer
Professor J Burchell
Professor DS Butterworth
Professor MR Caira
Professor RD Cherry
Professor JWA Cleymans
Professor JM Coetzee
Professor B Cooper
Professor TM Crowe
Professor S Cywes
Professor D Dewar
Professor CA Dominguez
Professor JW de Gruchy
Professor GFR Ellis
Professor W de Vos
Professor JG Field
Professor IJ Fiske
Professor P Folb
Professor W Gevers
Professor Y Gitay
Professor CL Griffiths
Professor JJ Gurney
Professor MJ Hall
Professor KA Hardie
Professor EH Harley
Associate Professor R Hickman
Professor PRG Horn
Associate Professor LC Isaacson
Professor JUM Jarvis
Professor P Klatzow
Professor H Klump
Professor RG Lass
Professor OAM Lewis
Professor JRE Lutjeharms
Professor IN Marks
Associate Professor DB McIntosh
Professor RP Millar
Professor VC Moran
Professor JE Myers
Professor LR Nassimbeni
Professor WR Nasson
Professor NS Ndebele
Professor TD Noakes
Professor GN Nurick
Professor CT O'Connor
Professor LH Opie
Professor J Parkington
Associate Professor T Rajna
Professor BB Rawdon
Professor P Reynolds
Professor AL Rodgers
Professor V Russell
Professor H Ruther
Dr SJ Saunders
Professor WR Siegfried
Professor AM Stephen
Professor T Stewart
Professor J Terblanche
Professor JA Thomson
Professor LG Underhill
Professor NJ van der Merwe
Professor DR van der Westhuizen
Professor D van Zyl Smit
Professor CL Vaughan
Professor CMML Villa Vicencio
Professor RD Viollier
Professor B Warner
Professor DJ Welsh
Professor EL Wilson
Professor FAH Wilson
Professor R Wood
Associate Professor H Bradford
Professor JS Davidson
Professor MJ de Wit
Dr HE Hinderks
Professor JT Irving
Professor DW Kurtz
Dr C Merskey
Dr CY Pauc
Professor IR Phimister
Professor DE Rawlings
Professor FT Robb
Dr DR Woods

Information updated by:
Denise Benjamin
Office of the Registrar
Tel: +27 21 650 2187

Updated: 14 March 2017