Alan Pifer Research Award for socially responsive research

The Alan Pifer Research Award is the Vice-Chancellor's annual prize in recognition of outstanding welfare-related research. It highlights the strategic goal of promoting socially responsive research, and honours a UCT researcher whose outreach work has contributed to the advancement and welfare of South Africa's disadvantaged people.

Claude Leon Merit Award

The Claude Leon Foundation presents, on an annual basis, the Claude Leon Merit Award to recognise younger academics of distinction in the fields of natural sciences, medical sciences and engineering.

Creative Works Award

The Creative Works Award was established to recognise major creative works, including art works, performances, productions, compositions and architectural designs produced by UCT staff.

Harry Oppenheimer Fellowship Award

The Harry Oppenheimer Fellowship Award serves to reward excellence and exceptional scholarship in all its forms. It is granted to candidates of the highest calibre in order to enable them to undertake a programme of cutting-edge, internationally significant work.

NRF Awards

The annual National Research Foundation (NRF) Awards are special recognition awards that provide a platform to honour researchers for their career achievements and contribute to knowledge creation and dissemination, as well as capacity development and transformation in the national research system.

NSTF Awards in partnership with South32

The National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) Awards are a collaborative effort with South32 to recognise those who have made outstanding contributions to science, engineering, technology and innovation (SETI). These prestigious awards celebrate, acknowledge and promote excellence in the South African research and development community by cross-cutting sectors, levels, gender and race, while recognising both individuals and teams.

S2A3 Awards

The Southern Africa Association for the Advancement of Science (S2A3) is the oldest scientific organisation in South Africa. Each year the S2A3 Awards recognise promising postgraduate students, young and established scientists.

UCT Book Awards and Meritorious Book Awards

The UCT Book Award and Meritorious Book Award recognise the publication of outstanding books written by members of staff.

Women in Science Awards

The Department of Science and Technology holds the annual Women in Science Awards (WISA) to recognise and reward women scientists and researchers and profile them as role models for younger women.