Home > Research & innovation > Awards > Harry Oppenheimer Fellowship Award
Home > Research & innovation > Awards > Harry Oppenheimer Fellowship Award

Harry Oppenheimer Fellowship Award


Xolela Mangcu


Professor Xolela Mangcu, Department of Sociology, Faculty of Humanities.

Xolela Mangcu is professor in sociology at UCT. He is an Oppenheimer Fellow at the Hutchins Centre for African and African American Research at Harvard University and the author and co-author of nine books, and more than two dozen journal articles and book chapters.



Professor Keertan Dheda, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences.

Keertan Dheda is professor of respiratory medicine and head of the Division of Pulmonology. He was awarded the 2010 International Union against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease Scientific Award for his outstanding contribution to the field of TB and lung disease. Dheda is involved in the activities of several international academic societies and holds a Visiting Professor appointment at University College London.



Emeritus Professor Leslie Underhill, Department of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science.

Emeritus Professor Les Underhill is the director of the Animal Demography Unit at the Department of Biological Sciences. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa and the South African Statistical Association, and the recipient of the 2002 Gilchrist Medal by SANCOR for outstanding contributions to the enhancement of marine science in South Africa.



Professor Jill Farrant, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, Faculty of Science.

Jill Farrant is a professor at the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology and a leader in the field of plant responses to water deficit stress. In 2015, she was the recipient of the prestigious Erna Hamburger prize which is awarded to the world’s top researchers in science, engineering and architecture. She is also the African/Arab States recipient of the 2012 L'Oreal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science and the Department of Science and Technology's Distinguished Woman in Science award for 2010. Farrant is a fellow of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), serves on the scientific board of the Agropolis Foundation in Montpellier and was the first female researcher at UCT to be awarded an A-rating by the National Research Foundation in 2009.



Distinguished Professor Philippe Joseph Salazar, Centre for Film and Media Studies, Faculty of Humanities.

Philippe-Joseph Salazar is distinguished professor of rhetoric and director of the Centre for Rhetoric Studies. He is a former director in rhetoric and democracy at Jacques Derrida's foundation, College international de Philosophie, Paris. He is a Life Fellow of the University of Cape Town and has held a continuous A1 rating since its inception by the academic research rating agency of South Africa.



Professors Igor Barashenkov and Frank Brombacher (joint recipients),
Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics and Department of Pathology, Faculty of Science and Faculty of Health Sciences.

Igor Barashenkov is a professor in UCT's Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics and specialises in Nonlinear Dynamics and Mathematical Physics.

Frank Brombacher is a professor in the Division of Immunology and director of the Medical Research Unit on Immunology of Infectious Diseases at the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (IDM). He has won a number of prestigious awards, including the General Award from the Medical Research Council (three times). Brombacher is currently president of the South African Immunology Society and visiting professor at the University of Strathclyde in Glascow.