Alumni Advisory Board nominates IRTC steering committee rep

13 Jan 2017 - 14:30

A Special Meeting of the AAB was held on Thursday 12 January 2017 at 5.30pm to elect a representative and alternate to represent alumni on the Multi Stakeholder Steering Group which will oversee the Institutional Reconciliation and Transformation Commission (IRTC). The AAB was requested to send names of the representative and alternate to Judy Favish by 16 January 2017.

The meeting, which was quorate, considered a background document approved by Council on 10 December 2016 which set out the tasks and composition of the Steering Group. There was agreement that the nominees should be unifying figures committed to working with diverse stakeholder groups, accustomed to creating a supportive and inclusive environment for constructive engagement and committed to forging a sustainable institutional culture for the future. Additionally it was felt that some prior experience of mediation and conflict resolution would be desirable.

The Chairperson informed the meeting that she had received the following nominations:

Ms Desiree Goliath
Ms Lorna Houston
Adv Geoff Budlender
Em. Prof Tim Crowe
Prof Bulie Magula

After a process of deliberation, the Board decided to nominate Prof Magula as the alumni representative and Ms Lorna Houston as the alternate.

The AAB is fully supportive of the IRTC process which we hope will contribute positively towards UCT's commitment to forging a new inclusive identify.

Dianna Yach
UCT Alumni Advisory Board