Southern African Association for the Advancement of Science (S2A3) Award

The Southern Africa Association for the Advancement of Science (S2A3) is the oldest scientific organisation in South Africa. Each year the S2A3 Awards recognise promising postgraduate students, young and established scientists.

South Africa Medal (Gold)

Tim Noakes Emeritus Professor Timothy Noakes (2014)

Department of Human Biology, Faculty of Health Sciences

Timothy Noakes, emeritus professor and former professor of exercise and sports science at UCT, co-founded the South African Sports Science Institute (SSISA) and has produced more than 500 scientific publications. He has been cited more than 15 000 times in scientific literature, has an H-index of 66 and is rated an A1 scientist by the National Research Foundation (NRF) of South Africa. .


Maarten De Wit Professor Maarten Johan de Wit (2013)

Department of Environmental and Geographical Sciences, Faculty of Science

Maarten Johan de Wit is professor of geology in the Department of Environmental and Geographical Sciences and has published some 200 papers in international journals, co-edited 3 books, and is the author of Minerals and Mining in Antarctica: Science and Technology, Economics and Politics. In 2005 he became the founding director of the Africa Earth Observatory Network (AEON), a trans-disciplinary research institute. Since 2011 he has held a personal chair of Earth Stewardship Science at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in Port Elizabeth. This award recognises his work in expanding our understanding of the young Earth and the origin of continents. 


Dan Stein Professor Dan Stein (2012)

Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health, Faculty of Health Sciences

Psychiatric disorders account for the third largest portion of South Africa's disease burden. Yet mental disorders remain the most stigmatised and grossly neglected of medical conditions. Dan Stein has dedicated more than 20 years of his life to the study of mental illness, with work ranging from clinical neuroscience through to public mental health.


Ralph Kirsch Late Professor Ralph Kirsch (2005)

Department of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences

From 1980 to 2004, Ralph Kirsch was executive director of the Liver Research Centre. He was one of the first 3 recipients of the UCT Distinguished Teachers Award and an elected fellow of UCT. He went on to become director of the School of Adult Clinical Medicine, professor and head of the Department of Medicine, and chief specialist, Department of Medicine, Groote Schuur Hospital. In 2005 he received this award for his important and sustained research in the field of internal medicine.


British Association Medal (Silver)

Genevieve Langdon Professor Genevieve Langdon (2014)

Department of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment

In 2014 this medal was awarded to Genevieve Langdon in recognition of her outstanding research on the effects of explosion loading on lightweight materials. Her work aims to better understand how important structures such as public buildings or transport systems respond to explosion. Langdon performs actual explosive detonations under carefully controlled conditions, making her work unique in the world.


Graeme Cumming Professor Graeme S Cumming (2013)

Department of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science

Graeme Cumming, former professor at the Percy FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology, was awarded this medal in recognition of his impressive research contributions towards our understanding of the spatial aspects of ecology. 


Landon Myer Associate Professor Landon Myer (2012)

Centre of Infectious Diseases Epidemiology and Research in the School of Public Health & Family Medicine

In 2012, the medal was awarded to Landon Myer in recognition of his extensive research contributions to epidemiology, and particularly to the study and prevention of HIV/AIDS.


Peter Dunsby Professor Peter Dunsby (2006)

Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, Faculty of Science

Peter Dunsby is professor of gravitation and conmology in the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics. This award recognised his contribution to theoretical cosmology and particularly on the new theoretical challenges that have resulted from detailed studies of the anisotropy of the cosmic microwave background radiation and the more accurate determination of the Hubble parameter from the study of Type Ia supernovas.